Maps of local deprivation in England

This website provides free and easy access to Index of Multiple Deprivation 2019 maps and data for England. The material here was produced by the University of Sheffield, in collaboration with the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government, and mySociety.

There is one map for each of England's 314 local authority areas, 533 Westminster constituencies, 155 travel to work areas, and 135 NHS clinical commissioning group areas. In addition, we have provided a set of maps at Middle Layer Super Output Area (MSOA) level for each of England's 314 local authority areas.

Download the underlying data, or find out more about the maps.

We encourage people to use and share these maps as they wish - no permission is required.

Search by postcode

Search by area

Different geographies

  • Clinical commissioning groups (CCG) - 135 maps.
  • Local authorities (LA) - 314 maps.
  • Travel to work areas (TTW) - 155 maps.
  • Westminster constituencies (WMC) - 533 maps.

See a list of all public bodies

Image of Knowsley showing different levels of deprivation.

(Local Authority)

Image of Wokingham showing different levels of deprivation.

(Local Authority)

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | See All | Search